People Are Pissed And Freaked Out That Uber Can Now Track You After Your Ride's Over

But don’t worry, you can opt out of it.

The ride-sharing app said on its website that it will collect its users' location data from the time they request the trip until five minutes after the trip is over.

The ride-sharing app said on its website that it will collect its users' location data from the time they request the trip until five minutes after the trip is over.

Daniel Sorabji / AFP / Getty Imagesq

This will happen if the app is open or running in the background.

"We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety," the website said.


View Entire List ›